Tags

, , ,

This is the last one of the reading challenges, that I’m doing in 2013. Then I can just focus on blogging about the actual books I’m reading (or wrecking/drawing in…). I have reviews coming up about The Summons by Peter Lovesey and Divergent by Veronica Roth. For now I can say that I’d rate The Summons better of the two of them. I also already have more pictures of WTJ pages ready if your more interested in that side of my blog.

This challenge, as you could guess from the name, is about reading a book starting with each letter of the alphabet. I don’t know where this version (or any version) of this challenge originates. Anyway, in this one you’re supposed to make a list of the books you intend to read from the start, though it doesn’t matter if you change some. I haven’t a book for all of the letters from the start though. It should preferably be new books and not re-reads, but if it suits me I will break that rule too.

Here’s my current list. I’ve read the bolded ones and I’m currently reading the ones with a star.

*A – American Gods – Neil Gaiman
B – The Book Thief – Markus Zusak/The Book of Lost Things – John Connolly
*C – The Casual Vacancy – J.K. Rowling
D – Divergent – Veronica Roth
E –
F – Flicka med pärlörhänge – Tracy Chevalier (Girl with a pearl earring)
*G – The Grand Tour – Agatha Christie and Mathew Prichard (ed)
H – The House at Pooh Corner – A. A. Milne
I – Interview with the Vampire – Anne Rice
J –
K – Kolmastoista kertomus – Diane Setterfield (The Thirteenth Tale)
L – Lord John and the Brotherhood of the Blade – Diana Gabaldon / The Last Dickens – Matthew Pearl
M – The Moonstone – Wilkie Collins / Matched by Ally Condie (the first I have on my bookshelf and never finished when I started it more than a year ago, but am still interested in finishing and the second I’m interested in reading, also Moby-Dick and The Mysteries of Udolpho are on my to read list, so I can’t really decide yet. None of these are on my mental to-read-very-soon list anyway yet)
N – The Neverending Story – Michael Ende (possibly)
O –
P –
Q –
R – Ruusunnuppuja vainajalle – Peter Lovesey (The Summons, though the Finnish translation of the title, which you see there means Rosebuds for the Deceased)
S – Strindbergs stjärna – Jan Wallentin (Strindberg’s star) / The Scarlet Letter – Nathaniel Hawthorne /The Sherlockian – Graham Moore
T – A Tale of Two Cities – Charles Dickens / Tempelriddaren – Jan Guillou (The Knight Templar) / Through the Looking Glass – Lewis Carroll
U – Utvandrarna – Vilhelm Moberg (The Emigrants) / Ulysses – James Joyce (um… the first is a re-read and very long and the second is not supposed to be a light read, so we’ll see what I’ll do with U in the end)
V – Vägen till Jerusalem – Jan Guillou (The Road to Jerusalem)/ Vadelmavenepakolainen – Miika Nousiainen (not translated to English I think, but it would be something like The Raspberryboat Refugee)
W – A Wizard of Earthsea – Ursula Le Guin
X – XYZ – Anna Katharine Green
Y –
Z –

