Tags

, , ,

More reading challenges. This is about the What’s in a Name-challenge. It’s about things in book titles. In this you are supposed to read one book for each category during the year 2013. This is the 6th of these challenges. I tried to do it last year too, but didn’t sign up officially. Now that I have a blog I thought I could officially sign up as well.

I thought this year’s categories looked easier than last year’s where there was for example “something creepy crawly” in the title. But when I looked through my to-read list I realised that it wasn’t that easy after all. Here’s a list of the categories with books I thought could fit in.

  1. A book with up or down (or equivalent) in the title: Wuthering Heights – Emily Brontë.  (heights is up)
  2. A book with something you’d find in your kitchen in the title: The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society – Shaffer & Barrows or Vanilla Beans and Brodo – Isabella Dusi (definitely the easiest category for me)
  3. A book with a party or celebration in the title: –
  4. A book with fire (or equivalent) in the title: Typically I read Catching Fire last year. A re-read of Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire is possible. The Ruby in the Smoke by Philip Pullman is a book I wanted to read for a while, but I’m not sure how easily I’ll get it. (there’s no smoke without fire, right?)
  5. A book with an emotion in the title: Would The Right Attitude to Rain (Alexander McCall Smith) count as an emotion? It’s what you decide to feel about rain, isn’t it? So yes, I guess. (I’d have expected there to be more emotions in the titles)
  6. A book with lost or found (or equivalent) in the title: The Forgotten Garden – Kate Morton (forgotten is definitely lost) or The Book of Lost Things – John Connolly (Thanks to Rachel for the recommendation)

I haven’t read any of the books for this yet. That’s just some possible choices, mostly what I tried to fit into it from my to-read list. I don’t really have anything yet for the party or celebration category.

In case someone else is interested in the challenge, here’s a link: Rules and sign up post on Beth Fish Reads

Oh and Happy Pride and Prejudice anniversary! Today it’s apparently 200 years from its publication. Did I tell you I love Jane Austen’s books? Especially P&P and strangely enough Northanger Abbey. I know the latter one is not a favourite of many out of the Austen novels.

