Tags

, , , , ,

Hello!

…and welcome to my new blog. My first ever blog on a blogging site…place…thing? This is exciting, right?! And I can tell you that taking care of the visual before actually posting anything has been a priority for me. Because I’m just like that. And I’m not happy with the header still. I’ve uploaded four different ones so far, but I can see that I need to work on those photos in Photoshop first, or else just take a better picture.

So you will be able to read about what this is all about on the About page too, but I thought I’d need an introduction here as well. Though I don’t know if it will be much of an introduction, since most who come across this at first will probably be people who know me from elsewhere too. But it will be an introduction to this blog anyway.

When we asked Pooh what the opposite of an Introduction was, he said “The what of a what?” which didn’t help us as much as we had hoped, but luckily Owl kept his head and told us that the Opposite of an Introduction, my dear Pooh, was a Contradiction; and as he is very good at long words, I am sure that that’s what it is.

And that quote is from The House at Pooh Corner by A.A. Milne. I’m not sure if I can somehow get the citation nicely in connection of the quote, but I’m still learning. Anyway, if you already know me, then according to Owl this is maybe partly a contradiction instead of an introduction, although it is also an introduction to the blog to everyone. I just recently read The House at Pooh Corner (and Winnie-the-Pooh as well a little earlier) and thought that was a fun quote. I loved both books by the way, and would recommend them to just about anyone. I don’t think I ever read the real Winnie-the-Pooh books as younger and was just subjected to Disney stuff from it and some selected parts (in translation and maybe not complete even). I bet that someone who read them as a child and loved them, would also have some fun seeing if it seems different now and if different characters than before are interesting.

What? Wasn’t this supposed to be an introduction. Or at least a contradiction. Am I getting off topic already? Well I guess it’s turning out to be more of a contradiction then. But this is really still leading me to what I was going to say.

So hello, I’m Annina and I’m going to be blogging about books. There. Got it? Talking about Pooh is definitely a start in the right direction. Literature and books. So that’s one main purpose of this blog. To talk about what I’m reading and post some sort of reviews of the books. I recently joined Goodreads too so possibly I’ll add a link somewhere in a sidebar or something soon (when I get all this blog stuff figured out that is).

Currently I’m reading The Summons by Peter Lovesey, Divergent by Veronica Roth and The Grand Tour, which is a book about Agatha Christie’s journey around the world, containing mostly her letters. So the two first ones are probably ones you get to hear about first, while the third is one I’m reading a little slower. It’s a good read so far but it’s a pretty big and heavy book too so I’m not carrying it around. I’ve also started J.K. Rowling’s The Casual Vacancy, which I’m having a pause from, mainly because I didn’t get very far before I had to read some for university literature courses and it’s also a pretty big book to carry around. That’s a bit about possible future things for this blog.

I’m also trying to complete a number of reading challenges this year: reading 50 books, ABC-challenge and the What’s in a name-challenge. Those I’ve picked up from the internet (mainly HPFF, though they originally come from somewhere else). Then I have my own personal challenge. It’s to reduce the number of unread books I have on my shelves. Book sales just happen to be a dangerous place for me, and then things happen and I read library books or just the newest books I’ve got and some poor books just end up waiting and waiting and waiting. So I try to read more of my own books than I buy or get. I tried this last year and the balance of it was around zero I think, I mean getting about as many new books as I read of the old ones. But I’ll be blogging more about these too later.

Then the not directly reading related topic, which is another reason for me creating this blog, is still about books. A couple of years ago I got Keri Smith’s Wreck This Journal (WTJ) and did a lot of it, but never finished with it. So I’ll probably try to continue with it. But I also came across Wreck This Box, which contains another WTJ, This Is Not a Book and Mess. So I’ll be doing those and blogging about that too.

Oh and introduction/contradiction to me. I’m Finnish and bilingual. So I’ve been speaking Finnish and Swedish since I learnt to talk and then learnt English at school later. So sometimes, if I’m writing about a Finnish or Swedish book, especially if it’s not been translated to English I might blog about it at least partly in that language, just so if anyone looks for something about that book, they’ll find it in the same language, and the review can’t be really interesting for someone who can’t read the book anyway.

I also have other interests than books actually. I’m pretty passionate/addicted to dancing and I guess you could say fitness. Not really really good at any dance since I was a bit flighty with hobbies as a kid and tried a lot but didn’t stick to anything for very long except art (visual art). I’ve probably done afro (african dancing) most, which is West African dances like djole, dundunba, soko, soli, mandiani, kuku, and other rhythms, which mostly get the rhythm from djembe and dun dun drums. But I’ve also done a bit of different Latin American dances, a little jazz, show and contemporary and whatever has come my way. Apart from that I go to some aerobics classes and zumba and pilates. A little more of one thing at some time and a little more of another at another time. Apart from that, I already mentioned that I’ve been doing visual art and love to see it as well, though I sadly don’t paint or draw or anything that much these days.

I listen to music and enjoy it; mostly musicals, jazz or jazzy stuff and stuff that probably go to the easy listening category and some other stuff too. But I’m more of a music listener than maker. I did play the electric organ for a while though. But I don’t sing. That’s one thing I’m very insecure about. I only sing when no one listens. What else? I love summer and warm weather. My zodiac sign is Leo. The sun sign that is. My moon’s in Pisces and I’m a rising Leo as well if you like to know that. And travel. I love travelling too. Especially in cities.

But I’d better let you go now if you’re still there. I know this is very long. I’d say, skim through the parts you’re less interested in, but if you’re here you already did that or actually read all of it. So thank you for your attention if you did. There should be a box for comments there unless I’ve pressed some wrong buttons, so feel free to comment/ask questions.

